Artist Profile: Chef Impersonator

Chef GlassNancy Farrar is a public relations maven by day, and a chef impersonator by night. She uses her talents as a communicator to share her experiences on experimenting with cooking and her search for America’s best dishes on her blog Chef Impersonator. The self-proclaimed foodie became an accidental artist about ten years ago. She discovered her talent for creating etched glassware and wood serving trays while scrambling to craft handmade presents for family members. “My sister decided we were going to all start doing homemade gifts for Christmas. I resisted like crazy, but those gifts I came up with are now the works I’m selling,” Nancy said.Digital StillCamera

Nancy dreams of having her work sold in the gift shops of the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth and the Kimbell Art Museum. In the meantime, shop her work at Pop-Up Market Saturday, July 13.

Learn more about Nancy in her responses to the questions below.

-What inspires you?
I’m inspired by finding an artistic side to myself that I never knew existed. I’m just beginning to explore it.

Chef Tray

-What’s the best thing about what you do?
The best thing about what I do is the sense of satisfaction that comes from making something by hand that folks want to buy and put into their homes. It’s quite an honor.

– What’s the hardest part about creating your work?
Procrastination.

-How did you come up with the name Chef Impersonator?
I did it the way I do it for my branding projects in my PR company. I begin with a clean sheet of paper and start writing down words. Then I put them together in various ways until the right combo arrives. Simple but not. Selling food-oriented gifts under that same name just seemed natural.

