Artist Profile

Linda Kinnaird Jewelry

WAXAHACHIE MAR 2012 103 (4)Linda and Rocky Kinnaird are in the transformation business. Together they shape, hammer, crimp, and shine discarded silverware to create clever jewelry pieces. “Rocky does the hard part – flattening the silverware, cutting it up, and smoothing the edges. I get to have my fun by adding the costume jewelry, little bits of this and that,” Linda said.

Before you visit Linda and Rocky June 15 at Pop-Up Market, learn more about them and their work by reading their responses to the questions below.

Linda K (2)

-What inspires you?

Finding wonderful old costume jewelry like our grandmas wore really inspires me.  Anything rusty or chippy also usually also catches my eye and gets the old creative juices flowing.  Keys, you must have keys!

-What’s the best thing about what you do?

The best thing about what I do is that this gives my husband, Rocky, and I a chance to be a creative team and to do something together.

-What’s the best part about selling at Pop-Up Market?

We love having the opportunity to be a part of this outdoor market. The Magnolia Green location is the perfect setting for a casual day of shopping for unique handmade items, enjoying the outdoors, and food trucks of course!

-Originally, my shop was named The Beaded Heart. I just wanted to make earrings.  When I picked up a hammer and a butane torch to work with metal I figured I’d best change my shop name to Linda Kinnaird Jewelry.  We’re evolving over this summer to yet another phase of creativity. TaterBugg Designs which will allow me to put my sewing machine to work, and will allow us to continue with our mission to create repurposed silverware jewelry and other vintage finds.

